Lessons from the Mountains

 

Image

I’m from Michigan so I don’t get to enjoy mountains very often; so when I had the opportunity to go on Ride the Rockies this year I was extremely eager and excited.  Seeing the Rocky Mountains on a bicycle is my idea of FUN!  It might not be for everyone, but we often move too quickly in life to get the full benefit of the scenery around us.  Riding a bicycle slows me down enough to enjoy sights that I might otherwise miss.  Riding in the Rockies is both arduous and amazing.  I asked God to show me things while I rode and he did not disappoint.  Let me share a few of the truths God showed me:

1. God is Full of Power and Imagination – The Lord of Glories is an amazing creator.  At each turn and at every elevation there was another breathtaking sight.  My smart phone is filled to overflowing with pictures that cannot do the actual scene justice.  I cannot tell you how many times I said “Look over there!” because in every direction there was another wonder of God’s creative genius.  I truly felt sorry for the atheist in those moments because they have NO ONE to thank for the beauty and majesty of all the panoramic spectacles I saw. And here is the BEST part. The Creator of all the incredible landscapes I took into my eye-gate is my Father. And since He is capable of creating such impressive backdrops and since He can sustain it all by the word of His power; He is completely capable of taking care of me and the problems I have to deal with in this life!

2. Climbing is Tough But It is Worth It – I like doing things that very few people in life will ever choose to tackle. I don’t just like to do what everyone else is doing. Give me a challenge…tell me I can’t do something…those are the things that I want to attempt – that’s at least one of the reasons that I wanted to ride the Rocky Mountains. I have never been at high elevation, but from my first training ride in the mountains I knew that I wasn’t in Michigan any more. Getting oxygen to your lungs is like sucking a thick milkshake through a small straw. On the fifth day of my ride we were scheduled to ride over three mountain passes – Battle Mountain Pass, Tennessee Pass, and Fremont Pass. I have to be honest, that day kicked my backside. There were quite a few people who didn’t make it because it proved to be too difficult. For those of us that made each mountain pass there was a lot of hoot-and-hollering, high fives, and picture-taking. Each mountain pass was worth the climb, but none of them were easy.   Making spiritual progress is a lot like climbing mountain passes.  Jesus even told us that it would be tough; and maybe that is why so many choose to stop short of greater heights.  The path of least resistance is more comfortable, but it also lacks the grandeur and fulfillment of the mountain top.   As the hymn writer put it…

Oft times the day seems long, our trials hard to bear, we’re tempted to complain, to murmur and despair; but Christ will soon appear to catch His Bride away, all tears forever over in God’s eternal day. It will be worth it all when we see Jesus, life’s trials will seem so small when we see Christ; one glimpse of His dear face all sorrow will erase, so bravely run the race till we see Christ.

3.  There Are Always Things That Deter Us From Climbing Higher – Ride The Rockies was trying something on the first day of the ride that they had never attempted before. Right out of the gate they wanted the riders to travel 90 miles with over 10,000 ft of gain.  It was the most difficult first day in the 29 year existence of RTR. Now the day started off really nice – the sun was shining – it was about 45 degrees out and before noon it got up to about 65 degrees. But after we left Central City things started to take a turn for the worst. The first thing is that out of Central City the grade changed from 7% to 15% – it was an “Oh my word!” moment for me! Then as we started the 25 mile climb up to Berthoud Pass the weather started changing. We could see a storm cell approaching and no one was quite sure if it would hit us…it did. First came a few sprinkles and then came the cloud to ground lightning. The lightening was close and powerful. There was so much electricity in the air that the hair on my arms started to stand up. I was unsure what to do so I kept riding; but I tried to find tall people to ride next to. Then came the hail – small at first, but the size of the hail grew until they were about grape size in proportion. They felt really good hitting your face! We took cover for a while at a school until the hail stopped, then we kept riding.   On the back side of the storm the air turned cold, and by the time we reached Empire, about half way up the pass, it was about 35 degrees and rainy. Most people, some struggling with hypothermia, stopped there. So many people stopped there, in fact, that there was a two-hour wait to be bused down from the mountain. We decided after some deliberation to press on toward the top. That is when the rain turned to snow. It was light at first – the kind that is fun to watch as it falls; but then it turned heavy. By the time we got to Berthoud Falls, approximately five miles from the top, more people were calling it quits. The air was cold and the snow was heavy – we decided to press on to the top. I cannot even begin to tell you how miserable those last five miles were. We could barely see; our hands were frozen in the now 25 degree temps; and our legs were aching. But at nearly 7:00 PM – 11 hours after we had started in Boulder, CO we reached Berthoud Pass. We were the last two people to make it.  As I reflected on this difficult day God reminded me that there will always be things that will try to keep us from climbing higher in our spiritual life.  Paul said Galatians 6:9 – And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.  He said this because he knew that there would be plenty of things that would make us want to quit – to say “That’s far enough!” I’m going to stop right here.  By God’s grace, let’s keep climbing!  I don’t want to give the Devil the satisfaction of seeing me stop before the REAL finish.  Let us say with the apostle Paul “I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:14)

One thought on “Lessons from the Mountains

  1. WOW !!! du bist mein held
    The mountains are my favorite place in the whole world… but last year I took the ski lift to the top of the ALPS, which was breath taking… maybe that is similar to GRACE getting me to my destination.
    With you in Christ Jesus
    RENATE

Leave a Reply

